info@emeraldcity24hrvet.com | 4102 Stone Way N, Seattle WA 98103
 
 
 
 
Emerald City Emergency Clinic
 
Call Us Now!
24/7 365 Days Per Year, Including ALL Holidays.
 
 
 
 
 
 

Animal Emergency Service Customer Reviews in Seattle, WA


 

Laura G. in Los Angeles, CA

2/19/2017
I am INCREDIBLY impressed with Emerald City Emergency Clinic!!! Today I encountered a gravely injured pigeon who kept walking up to strangers, and was truly suffering. I called two vets nearby, one of which had even treated my OWN pets, and both refused to humanely euthanize the suffering bird.

I called Emerald City Emergency Clinic, and the receptionist immediately said she would ask the vet if they could help while I waited on the phone. She said they absolutely could euthanize the bird, so I put him in a box and took him to the clinic.

When I walked in, I was greeted by an INCREDIBLY friendly, kind and compassionate staff member who took the bird to the back. The vet agreed that euthanasia was best, and they humanely euthanized the pigeon.

THIS is the mark of true compassion in veterinary medicine. When two other local clinics blatantly refused to help me in this situation, Emerald City stepped up to the plate. The core of veterinary medicine is to help animals who are suffering, and what I experienced today with Emerald City was compassion in it's truest form.

I will be speaking with Emerald City again soon to see if I can start to take my own pets there for care in the future, as the people who helped me there today are TRUE angels to animals, even animals that most people won't even take a second look at.
 

Kelly K. in Seattle, WA

10/9/2016
Our kitty was showing signs of a problem in his nether regions, yeowling and walking weird. It was a Saturday night and I called and spoke to a very helpful person on the phone who suggested we bring him in tonight or just wait until the next morning and call a regular vet, adding that, it would be cheaper to wait.

Concerned that our cat might have a blockage, which can be deadly, we took him in. No waiting once we arrived. The kind lady told us exactly what they were going to do in the back room. About 5 min later, the dr came out and discussed what she thought the issues might be and what she wanted to test him for. She also gave me the cost up front. Her demeanor was wonderful. Very kind, thorough and complimented our cat over and over and kept apologizing for the wait. She was very cheerful and personable.

Our kitty, unfortunately kept blocking, despite their efforts to unblock him. Each doctor I spoke with was patient, kind, and really took the time to answer all my questions. I never ever felt rushed. So far, our cat has been staying here for over a week. They allow visits anytime we want, so long as we give them a heads up about when we are heading over. They are upfront and honest about costs before they do anything. I'm really happy my cat is getting the best care here.

They encourage visits here. It has made a world of difference in his healing.
 

Breah E. in Seattle, WA

8/22/2016
We recently (Aug 20-22) had a very scary experience with our cat LeRoy and the doctor's and staff at Emerald City Vet helped us out tremendously. LeRoy woke up Saturday morning blind and with loss of functionality in his legs. We immediately took him to Emerald City Emergency Clinic (closest place to our house) and as soon as we got there the staff took him back for an examination. Shortly after taking him back the doctor came to meet with us and explained exactly what was going on (blood clots/cardiomyopathy). She was honest and comforting at the same time as she could tell we were very concerned. After determining the necessary care procedure they showed us where LeRoy would be staying and encouraged us to call as often as we wanted to check in while he was staying. Every time we called we received detailed status updated.

Saturday night we called and asked if we could come and visit LeRoy and bring him something that smelled like home to comfort him. The staff encouraged us to do so and let us go back and spend a few minutes visiting.

We met with three doctors during LeRoy's 48 hours (the doctor at check-in and check-out, a night-time doctor, and a different doctor at his 24 hour mark), all were great help. We were extremely happy to take LeRoy home Monday morning. I would have no concern taking any animal to this emergency clinic and really appreciated all of their help during our nightmare.
 

Annya P. in Seattle, WA

12/8/2016
I recently took my dog here as I suspected he had ingested something and was afraid it was going to block his stomach. I received great, prompt care and yes it is expensive but it's an emergency room. If you have pet insurance it should cover it and my coverage was able to take care of 90% of the cost but if you don't have pet insurance, be prepared to pay out of pocket. Point is ER care for your animal is expensive regardless of where you go and sometimes when push comes to shove you don't have the time to google least-expensive animal ERs in your area, so best you get pet insurance.

Also yes they do take your animals to the back room and won't let you come in. I think what most pet parents don't realize is that your dogs act up more when their pets parent are around them. I was more than glad to have them take my boy in the back since I know I contribute to his anxiety and stress level in past vet visits due to my nervous energy! Dogs are perceptive animals if you are anxious they pick up on that and manifest it too.
 

Teri T. in Seattle, WA

12/2/2015
My husband and I just moved to Seattle with our 8 year old cat, TigerLilly, and had not yet established at a new vet in the area. The weekend of Thanksgiving, we awoke around 2AM on Sunday to find our cat with a medical issue that needed to be addressed pretty quickly (anal sack abscess).

We hopped on-line and on Yelp to find out if there were any places open on the Sunday morning and/or open during the extremely late hour. Emerald City was open and only about 10 minutes away from us--so we called and they told us to just come on in--they are a walk-in service clinic.

We were greeted by wonderful friendly staff who took TigerLilly in right away, even before I had filled out any paperwork (you wouldn't see that in our human health care). They treated her quickly and got her prepped to see the doctor while my husband and I waited. I was impressed by the amount of communication they staff kept with us the entire time we were there. Before they did anything that might cost a larger amount of money (or even if they could shave the area) they verified it with us and continued to let us know what they were doing.

After the doctor took a look at her, she came to see us to chat and explain what types of things she would like to do for TigerLilly--even with the price of the total, which was significantly lower than I was expecting! Our doctor was kind, considerate, and you could tell she cared just as much for our animal as we did (as did the rest of the staff).

We were in and out in under an hour and a half with a price tag which was about half of what I was expecting to pay for an "emergency" location. The price actually didn't seem any different than what I would have paid if I went to a vet during regular hours--a concept I have never seen mimicked when I have been to emergency care for any human health issues.TigerLilly actually got faster and cheeper care for this than when I personally went to urgent care for a torn meniscus.

We went home knowing TigerLilly was going to be fine and with instructions on how to continually care for her while she healed. Thanks for helping us out Emerald City Emergency Clinic!
 

Elyse M. in Seattle, WA

4/25/2016
Not sure a lot of these reviews understand how emergency vets work. They're for emergencies. Of course they're going to be expensive... Emergencies aren't cheap.

They're open 24/7 for when your cat decides water is overrated and dehydrates himself until his pee becomes solid and obstructs his urethra on a Saturday night.

Okay, anyway, my cat received fantastic care here. Yes it was crazy expensive, but they told me it would be... The end cost ended up right within the price range they presented me with when I signed the consent form.

The vets and techs all told me what a sweet cat my Leo was during his treatment, and even if they say that about every cat, the sentiment was much appreciated.

And the best thing about it is... He didn't die. Which he would have if we had to wait until regular clinics were open on Monday.

If only animals could get sick between 9am and 5pm on weekdays. Then we wouldn't need an emergency vet. But until that happens, be thankful places like this exist, despite the high cost. If they weren't around, some of our furry friends wouldn't be, either.
 

Jess H. in Norton, MA

11/18/2016
This hospital saved my dogs life! Our labradoodle came on with sudden canine bloat, I brought her right in and they recognized it immediately for how severe it was and rushed her into surgery! It was an extremely scary situation but they were excellent and she was able to come home 24 hours later because of the exemplary job done by the vets and vet techs. They were very thorough in going through the cost of everything and making sure we had all the resources we needed to be able to pay! Rozzi is doing great, I think the hardest part is going to be keeping her energy level down while she recovers!
 

brigitte p. in Seattle, WA

8/7/2016
I am here to update and eat crow. I was not too happy about the charge for my little dog's recent emergency for me, but not for the rest of the world, appt.

I checked around a bit in righteous anger, and found out, that Emerald is very much on par with everyone else, if not better in the wallectomy.

So I apologize for my tantrum and again recommend them highly.
 

Michael L. in Seattle, WA

7/20/2016
Tonight was my third visit to this place. Every time I have went I have received great care for my pets. This small, humble emergency room has given my pets much better care than either of the two upscale (also double the cost) other emergency clinics here in Seattle.

Every time I have been in with a sick pet the vet always have me different care options and throughly explained what was wrong. They have always gone above and beyond for my pets.

Even when what my dog needed was way out of my price range for emergency surgery, they did every thing they could to send her home with all the medications & painkillers he would need until he could see my regular bet the next morning. All of the vet techs I have met here work well under pressure and although don't spend a lot of time in idle chitchat with you (remember, emergency room) they're friendly and helpful.

After visiting other emergency rooms in the Seattle area Over the past few years, I HIGHLY recommend this small humble pet emergency room! They will care for your pet, be upfront and honest about prices and wait times, and more importantly bring your furry friends back to great health.
 

Nicole S. in Castro Valley, CA

7/9/2016
Friendly late night staff. Jelly gave us a cardboard To go carrier when we needed it to transport a ferret we found on the streets of Seattle
 

Jason J. in Seattle, WA

5/14/2015
My dog Callie was hurt at Petco, due to the error of their associate not knowing how to use a product, and it sliced her leg open just above her DuClaw.

So brought her to the nearest 24 hour Pet Clinic which happened to be this one. They got me in right away and got her all suture it up and sent me on my way with instructions for caring for home and after follow up visit.

The staff was friendly and keep me up to speed of what was going on while Callie was back getting staples put in her leg.

I had to returned two days later because of the swelling in her paw had gotten to an extreme level. So they told me to bring her back in. I called ahead and so they were prepared for her to come in. When I got here they were ready to take her back and checked her out. They found it was just some severe swelling that was going on as a residual from her wound that she received when she was visiting PetCo. The doctor cameout to explain all of the problems that could astride and give me some options to try aftercare to keep her comfortable.
 

Mike M. in Seattle, WA

6/21/2016
Took my little guy there tonight, they were great and it is the only emergency vet I will use. I thought Tom had broken his leg, they informed me he was fine and just some rest and love was all he needed.
 

Lindsay B. in Capitol Hill, Seattle, WA

2/10/2016
The vet I saw here for my dogs facial swelling was soooo great. They were very through and reassuring. He ended up needing a tooth extraction, which we went somewhere else for. But what this vet prescribed for gizmo helped him be comfortable until his extraction. I'm happy to have a place I trust close to home in case of emergencies.
 

Breanna A. in Seattle, WA

8/18/2015
This place isn't super fancy or anything, but they are good at what they do. They're professional. They let us visit our dog whenever we wanted to (she stayed there for 3 nights after an ACL repair surgery. They gave us updates when we called to see how she was doing. They gave her her own quiet room with a blocked off gate with blankets and comfy mats for her to relax in. They wrote details and updates throughout the night that we could read. They helped us carry our dog in and out of the clinic. They were friendly and responsive.

Chances are if your pet had to go to an Emergency Vet Clinic, it's not a very great situation to begin with, but I thought this place deserves a good review.
 

Cheryl B. in King, WA

12/14/2016
From a personal perspective, this is one of the saddest reviews I've had to write. We had to put our lovable 11-year-old labrador to sleep after he lived with cancer for two years. My husband had just taken him into our regular vet for a check-up, and we had prepared ourselves for that day to be "the" day. We explained that he struggled to get up. His legs kept collapsing under him. Our vet said it still wasn't time. We felt so guilty for looking at our pet and being so wrong. Well, that night, his legs collapsed again, and he could not get up. My husband had to hold him up to go to the bathroom. We thought that maybe he could sleep it off and feel better in the morning. He didn't. It was a Sunday, and our vet was not open. Our kids were devastated, and so were we. We found this clinic online and called. They told us we could bring him in right away. My husband said that as painful as it was to put our dog to sleep, the vet and vet tech (who kissed our dog's head as he was put to sleep) were very comforting and understanding. WE knew that our poor dog was dying, but our regular vet convinced us to buy another $200 in medicine for no good reason. We're grateful that this place helped us and trusted us to know that WE, as his family, knew that he was suffering. I'm giving 5 stars because of their service and compassion even though it was one of the saddest days for our family.
 

Sean D. in Buckley, WA

8/1/2015
My dog Thumper had to have two surgeries and the surgeon I wanted to do the procedures recommended ECEC as where he would prefer to do the procedure and who would take great care of Thumper during recovery. Both surgeries went flawlessly and I can't say enough great things about the staff at ECEC. Tarra was AMAZING. My wife, who was extremely nervous this whole procedure, was calling Tarra, pretty often. Tarra was very responsive and even took some photos with her phone to text my wife to show her how Thumper was doing. They took amazing care of him while he was there and he was just like his old self when we picked him up both times!

Ignore the bad reviews on here. Most of them seem to be money related. When is the last time you went to an emergency anything and it was cheap? If you want quality care 24 hours a day, it is going to cost some money. If you can't afford to take care of your pet, you should not own one. Some of these people must have missed the flyers for pet insurance that were in EVERY corner of the office there. Something to think about. Obamacare does not cover your pets people.
 

Nina C. in Seattle, WA

10/24/2016
This emergency clinic is phenomenal. I wish my own doctors and my dog's regular vet was this excellent. My 10lb shih tzu had been throwing up all morning and I rushed her to the clinic. After several tests, they diagnosed possible ingestion of a foreign object needing surgery. But knowing my dog also had pre-existing kidney disease (so surgery would be more risky to her) they recommended keeping her overnight for observation in case the object was just a shadow on the x-ray. The following morning they concluded she would indeed need surgery. The vets were very communicative with me, explained clearly the risks and were obviously experienced with this type of emergency. Knowing they were experienced and the open lines of communication gave me trust and some relief that she was in capable hands. She went into surgery the next day and then had to stay a few more days with 24 hr care. The vets change every shift and I always got a call from the new vet on duty. I was amazed at how well coordinated they were, working in sync with each other, always on top of her recent care and status update. After we took her home, they taught us to syringe feed her and gave us a comprehensive schedule for her 7 medications. They were on call for every little question we had administering her medication from home. They did everything they could for her and she pulled through. She looks great now and is back to her old self. The vet techs were also excellent. Normally my dog hates the vet and panics. The clinic's environment is calm and drama free. Total bill for a week in the hospital plus surgery was about $6K but pet insurance took care of the majority. I know cost can be a huge barrier for treating your pet so definitely recommend creating a savings account for the deductible along with getting pet insurance. Having those resources made it a lot easier for the vets to do what they needed for her. You can tell that they always have the "price" conversation, which affects what they can do for your pet. Couldn't recommend them enough.